

Engagement Scholarship Consortium Announces Research/Creative Activities Grants Program Winners

June 25, 2019 For Immediate Release

HARRISONBURG and BLACKSBURG, Va. – The Engagement Scholarship Consortium (ESC) has announced recipients in the 2019 Engaged Scholarship Research/Creative Activities Grants Program for Faculty. Winners were selected by a distinguished panel of scholars from applications made by faculty working at ESC member institutions. Grants of up to \$5,000 are intended to fund a one-year project, and collaborative projects among faculty from more than one discipline and/or at more than one university were encouraged.

Winners for 2019 are:

- Jon Cox, University of Delaware, \$5,000, for ARRIVALS: What's Left Behind, What Lies Ahead
- Elena Foulis, PhD, The Ohio State University, \$5,000, for Performing Ourselves: Community Conversations on Loss, Gain, Acceptance, and Belonging
- **Rebecca Gokiert,** PhD, University of Alberta Extension, \$5,000, for Developing a Multi-Sectoral Network to Address Food Waste and Food Insecurity
- Brandon W. Kliewer, PhD, \$4,160, for City of Manhattan, KS 20-year Bike Ped Systems Plan
- Neena A. Xavier, MD, The University of Alabama at Birmingham, \$5,000, for Service Learning to Assess Medical Decision-Making at an Interprofessional Homeless Clinic.

The goals of the grants program are 1) to increase faculty involvement in engaged scholarship, 2) to increase awareness of the wealth of engaged research/creative activities occurring at member universities, 3) to enhance the level and amount of engaged research/creative activities that occur at member universities and 4) to enhance the ability of ESC member faculty to conduct engaged interdisciplinary research/creative activities within and between member universities.

ESC Board President Dr. Samory T. Pruitt, vice president for Community Affairs at The University of Alabama, emphasized the importance of the grants program. "Conducting scholarship that is mutually beneficial for both university scholars and communities is the very foundation of engaged scholarship," Pruitt said. "Through these grants, or seed funds, the Engagement Scholarship Consortium is providing financial support that helps facilitate positive outcomes for both scholars and communities."

Recipients will be recognized during ESC's 2019 annual conference in Denver, Colorado, during the Faculty Scholars panel on Tuesday, Oct. 8.

ESC is the premier resource for higher education institutions and their faculty, staff, students and community partners focused on promoting excellence in the scholarship and practice of engaged scholarship locally and globally.

To register for the conference, visit

https://engagementscholarship.org/conference/esc-2019-meeting/registration.

Contacts: Lynnette Overby, Engagement Scholarship Consortium Scholarship Committee chair and professor of theatre, University of Delaware, 302-831-1696, <u>overbyl@udel.edu</u>; Scott Reed, Engagement Scholarship Consortium Executive Committee member-at-large and vice provost for University Outreach and Engagement, Oregon State University, 541-737-2713, <u>scott.reed@oregonstate.edu</u>.